top of page

Day 41: Crossing the Finish Line, with some Help!


Walking every street of Bayonne turned out to be a lot longer walk than I had anticipated. Hope needed to be in more places than I had originally thought.

Ironically, my last walk was a series of dead end streets on the west side from 30th street to Robin's Reef Yacht Club, just north of Boat Works. Again and again it was a series of "about faces," only to find a new way out. What about the women at the tomb on that Easter morning? Their way was blocked by a sealed rock with guards standing in the way. Only their "about face" was one of hope. They had seen the stone rolled away and the soldiers "at ease" like dead men. This was no dead end street but only good news that hope was going ahead of them.

That's what I gained from my walk - a way out and a promise that allows us to walk through pain and suffering, even death. I would not have known this if I hadn't walked. Get up and start moving Bayonne!!


.

bottom of page